We Merely Come to Dream

‘I’ve never done anything but dream. This, and this alone, has been the meaning of my life. My only real concern has been my inner life. My worst sorrows have evaporated when I’ve opened the window on to the street of my dreams and forgotten myself in what I saw there. I’ve never aspired to be more than a dreamer. I paid no attention to those who spoke to me of living.’

Fernando Pessoa, The Book of Disquiet, translated by Richard Zenith.

‘We merely come to stand sleeping, we merely come to dream. It is not true, not true, that we come to live on earth.’

Cantares Mexicanos, translated from the Nahuatl by John Bierhorst.

Leave a Reply

