Elation

‘Speaking for myself, I have already had more than my full measure of this exquisite enjoyment, so much that for many years my life was little short of continuous rapture. I am credited with being one of the hardest workers and perhaps I am, if thought is the equivalent of labour, for I have devoted it almost all of my waking hours. But if work is interpreted to be a definite performance in a specified time according to a rigid rule, then I may be the worst of idlers. Every effort under compulsion demands a sacrifice of life-energy. I have never paid such a price. On the contrary, I have thrived on my thoughts.’

Nikola Tesla, My Inventions.

‘Invention depends upon patience; contemplate your subject long; it will gradually unfold, till a sort of electric spark convulses for a moment the brain, and spreads down to the very heart a glow of irritation. Then come the luxuries of genius! the true hours for production and composition; hours so delightful that I have spent twelve and fourteen successively at my writing desk, and still been in  a state of pleasure.’

Comte de Buffon, as quoted by Isaac d’Israeli.

Leave a Reply

